Formation of the Central Committee on the Development of Border Areas and National Races

After assuming the state's responsibilities by the Tatmadaw, a window of opportunity arose for the Government to carry out works for the development of the remote border areas and national races, which had lagged behind in level of development for years as a result of difficulties in communications and the internal insurgency problems. The Government holds the view that with the regaining of peace and stability in the State, building of national unity and reconsolidation is of utmost importance for the country. The situation coincided with the time when the local national races of the Kokang and Wa regions, breaking away from the BCP, made overtures to return to legal fold to join hands with the Government in the regional development activities. Seizing the golden opportunity of positive developments, the Government stepped up its efforts for the regional development of the border areas, bearing in mind the three national tasks, namely non-disintegration of the Union, non-disintegration of national solidarity and ensuring the perpetuity of the sovereignty.

With a view to successful implementation of the development activities for the border areas and national races, a Central Committee for the Development of Border Areas and National Races was formed on 25 May 1989 under the Chairmanship of Senior General Than Shwe, Chairman of the State Peace and Development Council. The membership of the Central Committee was later expanded to 9 members on 24 December 1996 and to 10 members on 11 February 1998 respectively.